Bumthang’s Chhoekhor-Tang constituency has been loyal to the cranes since 2008. Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) managed to grab Chummig-Ura seat again yesterday.

DPT secured landslide victory in Chhoekhor-Tang, the constituency of the party’s president, Pema Gyamtsho. The party secured 2,540 votes against 1,048 for People’s Democratic Party (PDP), 921 for Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT), and 237 for Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP).

In Chhumig-Ura, DPT won by 74 votes; postal ballot made all the difference. The party secured 968 votes in all. PDP secured 894, DNT 699, and BKP 235.

Albeit securing the highest Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes with 660 against DPT’s 612, PDP lost by 122 postal ballots to DPT.

At a polling station in Khangrab, three men returned disappointed after their names were included as Gomchens. “We voted in the National Council and for the local government,” said Tashi Phuntsho, 43.

Phuntsho Wangdi, a monk, said although he cannot vote, he is happy that the primary polls concluded without any problems.

“Personally, I am so happy that we don’t get to vote. Our leaders have thought well to not mix religion and politics,” he said.

Election officials opened Envelop A of postal ballot the day before the poll. Bumthang received a total of 948 postal ballots of which 934 were accepted for the count on the poll day.

Including the postal ballots, Bumthang saw 7,562 voters cast their vote, resulting in a turnout of an about 76.8 percent.

Bumthang has 9,836 voters, of which 5,232 are female and the rest 4,604 male.

Among the 19 polling stations, Wangduechholing has the highest number of voters – 1,028. The station in Shingkhar has the least – 227.

Tshering Dorji | Bumthang