Seven former councillors join politics, more waiting

Dechen Dolkar 

With the National Council (NC) elections over and the third NC coming to an end, former MPs provide a happy hunting ground for the political parties who are yet to finalize all the 47 candidates.

 Seven former NC members, it was confirmed, are planning to join political parties. Six of them decided not to join parties and three are yet to decide. Some political parties, Kuensel learnt,  have approached former councillors wooing them to join the party, while others are mulling to do so.

 As of yesterday, four former NC members confirmed to join Druk Thuendrel Tshogpa (DTT). Trashigang’s former councillor Lhatu will contest from the Wamrong constituency, Trongsa’s former councillor, Tashi Samdrup will contest from Nubi Tangsibji constituency, Gasa’s former councillor Dorji Khandu will contest from Khatoed Laya constituency and former councillor of Samtse, Tirtha Man Rai will contest from Dophuchen Tading constituency.

 It was also learnt that the party is in negotiation with Mongar’s councillor Sonam Pelzom.

 The Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) has also identified three former councillors. The party yesterday announced Zhemgang’s former councillor, Pema Dakpa from Bardo-Trong constituency. 

 Pema Dakpa has a Bachelor’s Degree in Agricultural Engineering from Central Luzon State University, The Philippines and a Master’s degree in Food Technology from K.U. Leuven and Gent University, Belgium.

Pema Dakpa served in the civil service for 14 years and later represented his dzongkhag as a Member of Parliament in the National Council for 10 years. 

It was learnt that the other two candidates are former councilors of Samdrupjongkhar. Deputy chairman, Jigme Wangchuk, will contest from Jomotshangkha Martshala constituency and former councilor of Lhuentse Tempa Dorji will contest from Maenbi-Tsenkher constituency. However, Tempa Dorji told Kuensel that he has not decided yet.

The former councilor of Thimphu, Tshewang Rinzin will join People’s Democratic Party to contest from the South Thimphu constituency.

Former councilors of Bumthang, Punakha, Tsirang, Sarpang, Pemagatshel and Trashiyangtse claimed that they will not join parties. They said that they want to take a break.

Similarly, the parties have also approached NC candidates who were not elected. BTP declared Karma Doji from Nyishog-Sephu constituency and the party has also confirmed a few more/other candidates.