Thinley Namgay

High Quality United FC (HQUFC) defeated Paro United FC 2-1 to win the Bhutan Super League 2020 title at the Changlimithang Stadium on March 21.

In an equally contested finale, despite numerous goal-scoring opportunities, the first half ended goalless. 

Paro United’s Gyeltshen Zangpo broke the deadlock in the 64th minute. The lead however, was short-lived as Paro conceded two consecutive goals in the next eight minutes.   

HQUFC’s skipper, Lhendup Dorji equalised in 70th minute. Two minutes later, Tenzin Thinley scored the winning goal for the team. 

At the end of the 90 minutes, HQUFC had made 14 shots in total against four of Paro. 

The champions were awarded with the rolling trophy and the cash prize of Nu 300,000. The runners up took home Nu 150,000, while Tensung FC who came third was given Nu 50,000.  

Paro United’s Sherab Gyeltshen was declared the most valuable player of the tournament. With 10 goals in five games, HQUFC’s Yeshi Dorji was the highest scorer in the tournament. A trophy and Nu 10,000 were awarded to both the players.  

In a superiority display, High Quality FC topped the league round with 18 points. Of the seven matches played, the team won six and lost one. 

HQUFC entered the finals after defeating Tensung FC 3-1 on March 14. Paro United also grabbed the final place by beating Tensung FC 4-2 in the penalties. 

By securing second position in the league round, Tensung FC received two opportunities to play the semi-finals. As per the Bhutan Football Federation’s (BFF) 2018 amendment on the qualification system, it has a provision where the third and fourth position team from the league have to play against one another and then the winner has to play with the loser of the first semi- finals. 

Defending champions, Druk Stars FC were defeated by Paro United 1-0 in the semi -final. 

Based on the league points, HQUFC, Paro United FC, Tensung FC, Druk Stars FC, and BFF Academy FC enters the upcoming 2020 Bhutan Premier league. 

CST FC, Paro Rinpung FC, and Gomo FC have been relegated to dzongkhag league. CST FC is the only team, who failed to acquire any point in the entire league. 

Bhutan Super League is the second highest division of professional football league in the country. 

A total of eight teams from Thimphu, Paro, Punakha and Phuentsholing took part in the league that began on February 6. 

Meanwhile, as a precautionary measure to combat Covid-19, Changlimithang and Changjiji Stadiums will remain closed starting yesterday until April 5.