His Majesty The King on November 1 granted a Royal Kasho to appoint the Interim  Government, which will carry out the routine functions of the government during the election period.

In accordance with the Constitution, the Interim Government is appointed by The Druk Gyalpo to function for a period not exceeding 90 days, to enable the Election Commission to hold free and fair elections. The Chief Advisor of the Interim Government is the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Chogyal Dago Rigdzin.

The other Advisors are: Dasho Penjore, RMA Governor, Dasho Chhewang Rinzin, DGPC MD, Dasho Karma Yezer Raydi, Chairperson, DHI, Major General Dorji Rinchen, Deputy COO, RBA, Karma Hamu Dorjee, Chairperson, RCSC, Deki Pema, Chairperson, ACC, Tashi, Auditor General, RAA, and Phuntsho Rapten, Eminent Member, National Council.

The Interim Government received an Audience with His Majesty The King in the Throne Room of Tashichhodzong, for their Inaugural ceremony.

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister and Cabinet Ministers held a concluding session of the Lhengye Zhungtshog, marking the dissolution of the Government earlier on November 1 morning.

Prime Minister Dr Lotay Tshering signs the relinquishing order marking the official end of the elected party’s term in office as the government on November 1. The Cabinet ministers then ushered the Chief Advisor and the advisors of the Interim Government into office.

Following the Inaugural ceremony, the Interim Government and the outgoing Prime Minister and Cabinet together offered prayers and Karmi Tongchoey at the Kuenrey of Tashichhodzong to commemorate the auspicious 15th Anniversary of His Majesty’s Coronation.