His Majesty the King granted dhar to appoint the chairperson and commissioners of Royal Civil Service Commission (RCSC) at the Tashichhodzong yesterday.

Tashi Pem, director general of the Department of Environment and Climate Change (MoENR), has been appointed the chairperson of the Royal Civil Service Commission.

The four RCSC commissioners are Babu Ram Sherpa, Tashiyangtse dzongdag, Kinlay Tshering, director general of Agricultural Marketing and  Cooperatives (MoAL), Lobzang Dorji, Sarpang dzongdag, and Tshering Cigay Dorji (Ph.D), executive VP of SELISE Bhutan Pvt. Ltd., a subsidiary of the Swiss software company SELISE, prior to which he was the CEO of Thimphu TechPark.

The five-year term of the 3rd Commission, headed by chairperson Dasho Karma Hamu Dorjee completed its term on April 16th, 2024.

In accordance with Article 26.2 of the Constitution, the chairperson and commissioners of the RCSC are appointed by the Druk Gyalpo from a list of names recommended jointly by the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice of Bhutan, the Speaker, the Chairperson of the National Council, and the Leader of the Opposition Party.