Yangyel Lhaden

Dagana—The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Chandra Bahadur Gurung, from Lhamoidzingkha-Tashiding constituency, emerged victorious in 22 out of 23 polling stations, losing only one vote in one of the polling stations.

He garnered 75.9 percent of the total votes cast in the constituency, securing 7,218 votes (5,617 EVM, 1,601 PB), triumphing over Bhutan Tendrel Party’s (BTP) Prakash Sharma, who received 1,550 EVM votes and 738 PB votes.

At the Drukjegang-Tseza constituency, PDP’s Sonam Dorji received 5,906 votes, or 60.5 percent of the votes, to win over  BTP’s Nima Tshering who secured 3,847 votes. 

Chandra Bahadur Gurung said that he was overwhelmed by the enormous support shown by the people towards him and his party and promised not to let them down. 

Contesting for PDP, he had lost in the 2018 elections. “I come from a humble family and consider politics a public service,” he said. “I trust our leader because it all depends on him to mobilise funds. As a candidate, I will make sure the public sees developments.”

On the other hand, Sonam Dorji had previously served as a National Council (NC) member for two terms, before joining PDP for the 2024 election. 

He said the current economic downturn brought huge responsibilities for PDP to implement corrective measures to revive the economy. “We have to work hard since people voted for us, based on our past track records.”