Six former gups were re-elected

Tshering Namgyal | Mongar

The biggest dzongkhag in terms of number of gewogs, Mongar, elected 11 new gups including two women in the recent LG elections.

The representation in the LG elections also saw positive developments with people electing 20 women to LG posts: two mangmis, 15 tshogpa, and a thromde ngotshab apart from the two gups.

Among the women gups, Narang Gewog elected their lone candidate Dechen Zangmo with 916 yes and 123 no votes. After losing in the 2016 election, she contested once again this time.

Neighbouring Ngatshang gewog had two women candidates and elected Ugyen Yangzom. She secured 746 votes out of the 1,618 votes cast. The other female contestant, Sonam Lhamo came second with 534 votes.

Drepong and Tsakaling gewogs elected two women mangmi.


Former gups

Six incumbent gups re-contested and the gups of Chali, Mongar, Kengkhar, Silambi, Tsakaling, and Thangrong were re-elected.

In Chali, the incumbent gup Tashi Dendup won after securing 529 votes, overtaking another former gup, Tandin Tshewang, who secured 508 votes, and the new contestant Ugyen Tenzin, who secured 164.

In Mongar Gewog, incumbent gup Tenzin Wangchuk won in a landslide victory securing 1,484 votes. The other contestant, Pema Tenzin managed 927 votes.

Tsakaling Gewog saw a close race, though the incumbent gup and the former Dzongkhag Tshogdu Thrizin Karma Sonam Wangchuk eventually won with 88 more votes. His competitor, a university graduate, Jigme Wangchuk secured 766 votes.

Thangrong voted for the incumbent gup, Changa, who secured 735 votes. There were three contestants.

In remote Silambi Gewog, the lone candidate, incumbent gup Dorji Wangchuk, was re-elected with 1,417 yes and 136 no votes.

Kengkhar Gewog also re-elected their former gup, Pema Chedrup. There were five contestants increasing the chances of the former gup. He secured 765 votes. Contestant Choni Dorji got 259, Kinley Dorji managed 81, Pema Lhuendrup got 157, and Woesel Thinley Tashi secured 522 votes.


11 new gups

Jurmey gewog chose a new gup over the incumbent who served for three consecutive terms. Rinchen Norbu secured 669 votes while the former gup Rinchen Gyelpo got 564 votes.

In Balam Gewog, it was a one-way race as Tshewang Dorji secured more than 50 percent of the 1,080 votes cast for three candidates.

Chaskhar Gewog also went for a new candidate. They elected the former tshogpa Tenzin Dorji. Tenzin Dorji won with a huge majority, 828 votes out of the 1,643 total votes. There were three contestants.

Dramitse’s new face Yeshey overcame former gup Kinzang Tshering. Gongdue Gewog elected Tshewang Tobgay, who secured 804 votes. The other two candidates, Sangay Dorji and Pema Dechen, got 187 and 716 votes respectively.

Drepong Gewog had the highest number of candidates. Sonam Phuntsho’s 325 votes were enough to win the election. The other contestants Lhaden, Sangay Tenzin, Sonam Dorji, and Tshering Dorji managed 140, 202, 169, and 231 votes respectively.

Saling gewog elected a new gup in a closely contested election between the former gup and a new candidate. With 893 votes, the new candidate, Sonam won by 46 more votes over the incumbent gup, Choni Dorji.

In Tsamang Gewog, it was no different. Voters chose a new gup, Sonam Phuntsho over former gup Sonam Darjay. Likewise, in Sherimuhung gewog, voters elected Dorji, a new candidate. There were four other contestants including the former gup.

The lone candidate Dema Yangzom, meanwhile, was elected as the Mongar thromde ngotshab with 111 yes votes and 12 no votes.