All five eminent members have been reappointed  

In what will mark the completion of a decade of constitutional democracy in Bhutan, the third National Council (NC) will be constituted today with the election of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

Members of the second NC relinquished their blue kabney and patang with the completion of their tenure at 5pm yesterday.

The contenders for NC Chair leave the office of the NC secretary general after filing their nominations yesterday

The contenders for NC Chair leave the office of the NC secretary general after filing their nominations yesterday

NC secretary general Chencho Tshering told Kuensel that except for those that have a red scarf, the members would wear the white kabney until they receive the dhar from the Druk Gyalpo.

The NC secretariat received nominations from six members for the post of Chairperson and three for the post of Deputy Chairperson. In a first sitting that will mark the commencement of their five-year tenure, members today will vote for the two posts.

The six candidates vying for the Chairperson’s post are Nima from Bumthang, Sangay Dorji from Chukha, Lhatu from Trashigang, Tashi Dorji from Wangdue, Tshewang Rinzin from Thimphu and Pema Dakpa from Zhemgang.

Members contesting for the post of Deputy Chairperson are Ugyen Namgay from Haa, Jigme Wangchuk from Samdrupjongkhar and Tashi Samdrup from Trongsa.

Secretary general Chencho Tshering said Chief Justice Tshering Wangchuk would administer the oath of office for the new members of the house of review today.

He said that the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) would conduct the election for the chairs. He said it was important that the house of review elected a right candidate to the post of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson. “The election will be conducted by the ECB. We will only facilitate the process,” he said.

The candidates were allotted 10 minutes each to make their pledges in front of the members as part of their campaign in the afternoon after completion of the nomination process.


All five eminent members re-appointed

Secretary general Chencho Tshering informed that the Druk Gyalpo has reappointed all five eminent members for another term in office.

The five eminent members are Tashi Wangmo, Tashi Wangyal, Phuntsho Rapten, Kesang Chuki Dorjee and Karma Tshering. Tashi Wangyal and Tashi Wangmo will begin their third term as eminent members.

According to the secretary general, the tenure of eminent members is tied with that of the elected members. This means that their tenure would expire with the tenure of the elected members even if they were appointed in the middle of the term.

“All five eminent members have been re-nominated by His Majesty The King,” Chencho Tshering said.

The secretary general said that the re-nomination of the eminent members would provide the much-needed experience in the functioning of the house.

There will be 10 members with experience in the house of review, including the five eminent members. Of the five members who were re-elected, the NC member from Samdrupjongkhar is the only member to be elected for a third term.

The house has four women members, two elected members and two eminent members. The two elected women members are Lhaki Dolma from Punakha and Sonam Pelzom from Mongar.

According to the parliamentary (amendment) Act 2014, members’ salaries, allowances and other benefits shall be paid with effect from the day of the declaration of the election result. In the case of eminent members though, the benefits will be paid from the day the Druk Gyalpo grants the nomination Kasho until the seat becomes vacant.

MB Subba


Skip to toolbar