Update: The winter session of Parliament slated to commence from November 4 is expected to declare the Dzongkhag Thromde for Pemagatshel and Yenlag Thromdes for Paro and Pemagatshel dzongkhags.

The Dzongkhag Thromde and the two Yenlag Thromdes could not be endorsed during the last session because of disagreement among the parliamentarians.

The recently held plenary meeting of the National Assembly included the issue in its agenda following the endorsement of Denchi town by the Dzongkhag Tshogdu (DT) as the Dzongkhag Thromde and Nganglam as the Yenlag Thromde.

Officials said the Assembly’s decision to declare the remaining thromdes was made as per the resolutions of the Dzongkhag Tshogdus of Pemagatshel and Paro held in September.

Khar-Yurung MP from Pemagatshel dzongkhag, Zanglay Dukpa, said that the Assembly has decided to include the issue respecting the resolution of the DT, which he stated that it should be decided in the winter session. “There will be a joint siting, in which we will decide on the issue,” he said.

MP Zanglay Dukpa also said that the DT had finalized the Dzongkhag Thromde and the Yenlag Thromde after a thorough discussion. “The DT held a extensive discussion to declare the thromdes,” he said.

During the last Parliament session, while voting on identifying Nganglam as the Dzongkhag Thromde, out of 68 members, only 37 voted “Yes” and 25 “No”. The proposal could not be endorsed as it failed to secure the three-fourth majority.

Similarly, Denchi also could not secure the required majority. Only 33 members had voted “Yes” and 23 “No” out of the 68 members present.

Paro dzongkhag is also expected to get its Yenlag Thromde this time. Paro DT has endorsed Bjitsephu in Tsento gewog as the Yenlag Thromde. But Dogar-Shaba MP Kezang Wangmo said some want the yenlag thromde in their own gewogs.

She said that the people of Betena gewog also say that the Yenlag Thromde should be in their gewog.

The decision of Paro DT was taken through a majority vote where 10 out of the 17 local leaders present at the DT voted for Bjitsiphu as Yenlag Thromde.

In the last session, 28 members had voted for Bjitsephu but could not meet the three-fourth majority and as many had voted “No” out of the 65 members present.

MB Subba