Paro FC and Quess East Bengal Academy FC from West Bengal, India settled for 1-1 draw yesterday in the ongoing Samtse championship that began on January 6 in Samtse.

However, it took Paro FC till the 83rdminute to tie the score and share the points. The equaliser came after the Paro FC’s frequent counter one of which Dawa Tshering’s headed in the net.

Paro FC started well in the early part of the game, but their hard work was undone after a defensive error in the 6th minute when Quess East Bengal took the lead .

The Bhutanese side dominated the game since the beginning winning 26 shots of which 15 were on target. Quess East Bengal Academy FC recorded three on target shots and one off-target.

The match against the team from India was Paro FC’s first game after the team finished second in the national league 2018 edition in their debut season last year.

The club has strengthened their squad signing players from the teams that finished in top three positions during the national league championship 2018.

Paro FC’s lone goal came from former Transport United player Dawa Tshering who joined the club this year. He recorded the first goal with his new club in the first game yesterday.

The game against Quess East Bengal FC saw Paro FC playing three other newly signed players from Thimphu City FC and Thimphu FC. Diwash Subba and Jigme Tshering Dorji joined the club from Thimphu City FC for the championship.

The start of Samtse championship, Samdrupjongkhar Championship, and revival of Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Gold Cup in Phuentsholing by Bhutan Football Federation has seen local clubs bringing in new players and many domestic transfers done this winter.

The reigning national champions, Transport United has also included seven players who did not get an opportunity to play such level of competitions in the country.

Thimphu City FC has called three players from Rangjung Central School for the championship.

Meanwhile, in the opening game of the championship on January 6, the host team, Samtse DSA lost to Pran Jaigaon FC 0-2 from West Bengal, India. The latter currently leads the pool A.

Pran Jaigaon FC, Samtse DSA, Ugyen Academy FC, Transport United, and Gairkata United are placed in pool A.

Prince FC, Paro FC, Quess East Bengal Academy, and Thimphu City FC are placed in pool B.

Eight clubs from Bhutan and India, four from Bhutan and four from West Bengal, India are participating in the first ever Samtse Championship that will end on January 26.

Transport United FC will play Gairkata FC today at 3 pm.