Chencho Dema

In yesterday’s primary round of election, Wangdue declared the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as its top choice to advance to the general round, triumphing over four other participating parties.

Wangdue consists of two constituencies, Nyisho-Saephu and Athang-Thedtsho, where PDP exhibited a robust performance in both postal and electronic voting methods.

In Nyisho-Saephu constituency, PDP secured a total of 4,038 votes, comprising 3,101 electronic voting machine (EVM) votes and 937 postal ballots. Similarly, in Athang-Thedtsho, PDP garnered 3,328 votes, with 1,256 postal votes and 2,071 EVM votes.

Breaking down the results further, in the Nyisho-Saephu constituency, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa secured the second position with 1,383 votes, followed by Druk Thuendrel Tshogpa with 1,179, Bhutan Tendrel Party with 1,141, and Druk Phuensum Tshogpa with 556 votes.

In Athang-Thedtsho, Druk Thuendrel Tshogpa claimed the second position with 1,565 votes, followed by Bhutan Tendrel Party with 990 votes, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa with 922 votes, and Druk Phuensum Tshogpa with 815 votes.

Athang-Thedtsho, with 24 polling stations, hosted 11,215 registered voters, excluding 71 persons with disabilities (PWDs). The constituency recorded 2,414 in-country conventional postal ballots and 63 overseas postal ballots.

Nyisho-Saephu constituency featured 21 polling stations, accommodating 11,425 registered voters, including 71 PWDs. The constituency recorded 2,122 in-country conventional postal ballots and 93 overseas postal ballots.

A voter at the Bajothang polling station expressed unwavering loyalty to a party since 2008, emphasising the importance of exercising the privilege to vote, even in uncertain times.