KP Sharma

As expected, People’s Democratic Party (PDP) clinched victory in both constituencies of Haa during the primary rounds of the National Assembly election.

Out of the 5,724 votes cast through electronic voting machines (EVM) and postal ballots across the two constituencies, PDP emerged as the clear winner with an impressive count of 3,766 votes.

Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) secured the second position with 892 votes, followed by Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) in third place with 464 votes.

“I am overwhelmed with gratitude and humbled by the overwhelming support shown by the people in this historic election. The results are an indication of the faith and trust the people have placed in our vision for Bhutan. We believe that the results reflect the hopes and aspirations of every Bhutanese,” said PDP president Tshering Tobgay. “Moving forward, our plan for the general round is centred on continuity and growth. We aim to build upon the foundation of trust and confidence bestowed upon us by the People of Bhutan.”

Druk Thuendrel Tshogpa (DTT) claimed the fourth position with 356 votes, while Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) gathered 289 votes.

In Sangbaykha, the constituency of the PDP president, PDP secured the highest votes with 720 postal ballots and 1,413 EVM votes. BTP secured 195 votes through EVM and 31 through postal ballots. DNT received 91 EVM votes and 62 postal ballots. DTT won 103 EVM votes and 33 postal ballots, whereas DPT obtained 109 EVM votes and 21 postal ballots.

In the Bji-Kartshog-Uesu constituency, PDP garnered 1,162 EVM votes and 471 postal ballots. BTP received 498 EVM votes and 128 postal ballots. DNT secured 241 EVM votes and 70 postal ballots. DTT obtained 166 EVM votes and 54 postal ballots, whereas DPT received 135 EVM votes and 54 postal ballots.

Haa, with two constituencies and approximately 8,565 registered voters, witnessed an active and participative electoral process.