… sweeps Drametse-Ngatshang, Kengkhar-Weringla constituencies

People’s Democratic Party (PDP) achieved a decisive victory in all three constituencies of Mongar dzongkhag, breaking Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s (DPT) stronghold in Drametse-Ngatshang and Kengkhar-Weringla.

In the primary round conducted yesterday, PDP secured 9,394 votes, with 4,956 on electoral voting machines (EVM) and 4,438 from postal ballots (PB). Despite historically being strongholds for DPT since 2008, DPT came second in both constituencies, garnering 4,573 votes including 2,556 postal ballots.

In the Drametse-Ngatshang constituency, PDP received 3,638 votes, while DPT trailed with 2,497 votes. The newcomer, Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) and Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) secured 2,478 and 698 votes, respectively while Druk Thuendrel Tshogpa (DTT), another new party, got 509 votes.

Kengkhar-Weringla constituency saw PDP winning with 2,726 votes, followed by DPT with 2,076 votes. BTP secured 1,547 votes, DNT received 736 votes and another new party. DTT secured 711 votes.

Like in 2013 and 2018, DPT did not fare well in Mongar constituency, receiving the second-lowest votes at 950, with DTT following at 761. PDP secured the highest votes, 3,060, while BTP and DNT received 1,980 and 1,081 votes, respectively. Mongar constituency has 11,625 eligible voters including 6,091 female voters.

The three constituencies recorded 25,418 votes out of 38,615 eligible voters in 72 polling stations, with 11,769 votes cast through postal ballots. In 2018, there were 76 polling stations.

A DPT representative said, “It is the weariness of voters supporting DPT for the last 15 years and the desire for change, which they rightfully deserved for the betterment of the nation. We gracefully accept the defeat and extend our gratitude to the people of Bhutan for their unwavering support over the past 15 years.”

Contributed by 

Rinzin Wangchuk,

former editor of Kuensel