Yangyel Lhaden

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) celebrated a resounding in two constituencies in Tsirang.

In Sergithang-Tsirangtoed, PDP’s candidate, Lhakpa Tshering Tamang, triumphed with a total of 6,338 votes—4,873 from electronic voting machines (EVM) and 1,465 from postal ballots (PB). Bhutan Tendrel Party’s candidate, Gopal Thapa, secured 2,702 votes, with 1,822 from EVM and 880 from PB.

The constituency, with 13,232 registered voters (6,741 male, 6,491 female), witnessed 68 percent voter turnout from 9,040 voters. Out of 2,424 registered PB voters, 2,315 were received, and 17 were rejected.

In Kilkhorthang-Mendrelgang, PDP’s Kamal Bahadur Gurung clinched victory with 5,800 votes (4,487 EVM, 1,313 PB), while BTP’s Dhan Bahadur Tamang received 3,947 votes (2,798 EVM, 1,149 PB).

The constituency, home to 13,949 registered voters (7,039 male, 6,910 female), boasted a strong 69.8 percent voter turnout—9,747 voters. Among 2,449 postal ballots received, 17 were rejected.