Thukten Zangpo

Thimphu’s electoral favoured legislative experience in the general round of NA election, with both MP-elect from Thimphu having prior service in the Parliament.

The People’s Democratic Party’s (PDP) victory in Thimphu can also be attributed to a robust campaign that emphasised economic recovery and the party’s past experience in governance and economic upliftment in 2013.

Voters like Garab Phuntsho Wangyel and Dendup expressed expectations for the incoming government, anticipating economic improvements post-pandemic and growth in the tourism sector, respectively.

In North Thimphu constituency, where PDP secured the highest number of votes during the primary round, Tshering, a former PDP MP, won with 56.9 percent votes in the general election. 

Tshering, who was elected in the 2016 bye-election, demonstrated a significant lead in both primary and general elections.

In the primary round, Tshering secured 643 more votes than Sonam Penjor of Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) out of 4, 375 total votes, including votes from other three parties that did not get through in the election. 

Tshering secured 2,357 votes in the general election, including 411 postal votes and 1,946 from Electronic Voting Machines (EVM), surpassing his primary round performance by 755 votes. 

Sonam Penjor secured 1, 787 votes—1, 454 from EVM, 492 less and 333 from postal votes, 78 less than Tshering. He secured 185 more votes from the primary round.

The postal ballot votes were closely contested, but the EVM votes played a crucial role in Tshering’s victory. This could imply that he got 77.66 percent of the votes from the other three parties. 

Expressing gratitude, Tshering attributed his win to collective efforts, unwavering support from the people, the dedication of his campaign team, and constructive dialogues about critical issues. “Their support means the world to me, and I am deeply honored to have their backing in this election.”

Tshering emphasised unity, collaboration, and shared aspirations for a better future as guiding principles.

Across 13 polling stations out of 26 in Thimphu, Tshering secured the highest votes of 348 from Jigme Losel primary school polling station, followed by 328 in Zilukha middle secondary school because of the high number of registered voters.

In South Thimphu constituency, PDP’s candidate, Tshewang Rinzin, secured 50.3 percent of the votes in the general election, winning by a margin of 35 votes over BTP’s candidate Tandin Tshering. 

Tshewang Rinzin, a former National Council MP and dzongdag, won by 2, 962 votes—2,330 from EVM and 632 from postal ballots. He secured 1,215 more votes than the primary round.

BTP’s Tandin Tshering secured a total vote of 2,927—2,370 through EVM and postal ballot count was 557, securing 1,947 more votes than the primary round. 

It means that 38.43 percent of the votes from the other three parties went to Tshewang Rinzin. 

Tshewang Rinzin expressed gratitude to the people of South-Thimphu for their support and trust in him and the party’s pledges.

Across 13 polling stations in South-Thimphu, he got the highest 276 votes from Khasadrapchu middle secondary school polling station followed by 267 in Jiminang primary school.

The overall voter turnout in Thimphu was reported at 57.29 percent, with 10,033 out of 17,397 registered voters exercising their right to vote.