Thinley Namgay

Thimphu City FC humbled Tensung FC 6-2 to grab the crucial three points to win the premier league with a game in hand on November 14.

This is the second time Thimphu City FC won the national championship after winning the title in 2016.  The club will get Nu 2 million (M) as prize money.

The visitors demolished the hosts with skipper Tshering Dorji and striker Kencho Tobgay scoring two goals each, and their mid-fielder Karma Shedrup Tshering adding another to make it 5-0 at half time.


Despite the home advantage, Tensung couldn’t make much difference in the next half. Although the team pulled back two goals through Dawa and Phuntsho Dorji, they could not create enough chances. The Cityzens added another goal through former national team striker, Yeshey Dorji in the dying minutes of the match to make it 6-2.

Before the match, City’s head coach Ngawang Dendup said that it was a deciding match for the club’s hunt for the title. “Either draw or a win is enough to lift the trophy. We consider it as one of the toughest matches and we never undermine Tensung FC. Our players also did extra training.”

Each team plays 14 games in the league and only a few remain.

City snatched 37 points from 13 games so far with 12 wins and a draw. The club will play the last match against Ugyen Academy FC on November 20.

The only challenger for the title was Ugyen Academy FC in the second place with 28 points after 12 matches. Even if the club wins both the remaining games, they will only secure 34.

The defending champions, Paro FC is in the third position on the table. Paro FC has 24 points after 13 games.

Ugyen Academy and Paro FC will be rewarded Nu 0.8M and 0.4M respectively as prize money. 

Thimphu City’s skipper Tshering Dorji said that to keep the dignity of the club, they would try to win the last match against Ugyen Academy FC on November 20. “I’m glad that our club won the title after three years.”

City with 34 points were third on the table last year.

Thimphu City has now qualified for the preliminary round of the 2021 Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup.