Number of participants doubled   

Thinley Namgay

Top-three runners of the 2022 Snowman Race,  Sangay and Kinzang Lhamo, won the 10th Bhutan International Marathon title conducted on March 2 in Punakha.

Both the winners  are soldiers of the Royal Bhutan Army, based in Paro and Haa, respectively. Sangay and Kinzang Lhamo are today among the top runners in the country.

Sangay secured the first position after his fifth attempt. It was the second consecutive title for Kinzang Lhamo after her first appearance in the race last year.


Kinzang Lhamo, 25, from Trashingang, completed the 42-km race in the women’s category in 3 hours (hrs) and 26 minutes, followed by Goma Pradhan, who finished just 5 minutes behind Kinzang. 

Ohuchi Haruko, a Japanese runner, came  third, sealing the race in 4hrs and 10 minutes. Kinzang secured the second position in the 2022 Snowman Race. 

Kinzang Lhamo who aimed to beat her own record, said the race was competitive. She beat her record by finishing the race 17 minutes faster this year. She attributed her success to the hard work and constant training, expressing her hopes to keep participating in the race.   

In the men’s 42km race, Sangay, 31, from Zhemgang, finished the race in 2hrs and 48 minutes. Gawa Zangpo secured the second position, just 21 seconds behind Sangay, and Tashi Norbu stood third, crossing the finish line in 2hrs  and 50 minutes. 

Gawa Zangpo is the winner of the 2022 Snowman Race in the male category, while Sangay held the third position at that time.

Sangay said that the two months of training by the Bhutan Amateur Athletics Federation for participants before the run made him more competent, in addition to his personal training. He emphasised that interest and good training are key to winning competitions.

In the 21km female category, Yeshi Dem emerged victorious in 1hr and 38 minutes, followed by Pem Zam with a time difference of 10 minutes, and Indra Kammer with a 13 minutes time difference. 

In the 21km male category, Kabji Tshering secured the first position in 1hr and 16 minutes, followed by Thinley Lhendup with a 5 minutes time difference. Kinley Gyeltshen came third, just 2 seconds behind the second position holder. 

Organised by the Bhutan Olympic Committee, the 10th edition of the Bhutan International Marathon witnessed 232 runners, including 60 international participants. The number of participants doubled compared with last year. 

Winners, runners-up, and third position holders in the 42km category received Nu 40,000, Nu 30,000, and Nu 20,000, in cash prize respectively. Meanwhile, winners, runners-up, and third position holders in the 21km category received Nu 20,000, Nu 15,000, and Nu 10,000 in prizes.

The Bhutan International Marathon aims to promote healthy living through running while fostering relationships with international participants.