Jigmi Wangdi

The 2023-2024 General Elections in Trongsa showcased a distinct split in the two constituencies, with the Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) prevailing in Nubi-Tangsibji and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) securing victory in Draagteng-Langthil.

In Nubi-Tangsibji, BTP clinched a total of 1,629 votes, which included 523 postal ballots. On the other side, PDP secured 1,373 votes, with 543 coming from postal ballots. Tashi Dorji of BTP emerged victorious over PDP’s Phuntsho Dhendup.

However, the narrative shifted in Draagteng-Langthil, where PDP garnered a total of 2,461 votes, including 661 postal ballots. BTP managed to secure 1,967 votes, with 574 from postal ballots. PDP’s Namgay Dorji triumphed over BTP’s Dorji in this constituency.

Examining the voter demographics, the Nubi-Tangsibji constituency comprised 4,777 registered voters, with 2,221 males and 2,556 females. The constituency received a total of 1,163 postal ballots, including 1,086 from within the country, 32 from Persons with Disabilities (PWDs), and 45 from overseas.

Draagteng-Langthil constituency boasted a total of 6,493 registered voters, with 3,178 males and 3,315 females. Out of the 1,341 postal ballots received, 68 were from PWDs, and 35 were cast from overseas.

A total of 15 postal ballots were rejected in Trongsa. Reasons for these rejections included empty voter forms, identical identification of the voter and witness, empty voting boxes, and instances where both boxes were ticked or ticked outside of the designated areas.

This electoral outcome reflects the varying priorities and perspectives of the constituents.